Froufrou Meets Folk

August 1, 2008

One of my goals with LolliShops is to bridge gaps. On Monday I will discuss how LolliShops is bringing together the artists who sell on their own dot com websites and the artists who sell through a marketplace.
But today, we will discuss how LolliShops will close the gap between Folk & Froufrou.
To better illustrate the perfect blend of both styles, I have chosen the creations of Jenny Hernandez ~ The Polka Dot Pixie!

I asked Jenny to tell us what she loves about both styles and where she draws her inspiration from. Here is what she said (so sweetly)…

what I love about both folk/prim and froufrou:

I have always loved all things both nostalgic and feminine. Old fashioned violet talcum applied with a pink powder puff, ice cream eaten at a drug store counter with strawberry colored striped wallpaper in the background and Lena Horne on the jukebox, peach satin lining in a vintage suitcase… it’s that combination of the antique and the sweet that inspires me. There’s no better compliment than when a customer tells me that a piece that I have made brings back a good memory, or reminds them of someone they love. I think the naive simplicity of folk art allows artists to evoke sentimentally blended with that beautiful femininity seamlessly.

Besides being the perfect combination of both froufrou & folk, Jenny Hernandez really knows how to brand her business.
All the photographs she takes of her creations are consistent. When you see that faded, polka dotted paper,
you know who’s art you are looking at. This helps her on many levels–the most important one is people recognize it and if anyone else ever used her photos without permission or tried to pass them off as their own; people would know!
I also think it’s important when people are browsing through Jenny’s shop/ gallery. The viewer finds a mood or a feeling and then always associates that feeling with Jenny’s creations…

Just a side note here:
Not all folk is froufrou and froufrou reigns here at LolliShops–but there are artists out there that fit into both looks and I’m excited to be bring them on board!
~Sadie Lou
Find Jenny’s Creations (for now) (*wink*)
The Polka Dot Pixie

11 Responses to “Froufrou Meets Folk”


  1. Who doesn’t love Jenny’s creations!

  2. Amanda Says:

    Jenny’s creations are just adorable! I love the colors and the style! Wonderful!


  3. Love Jenny’s work!!! Never thought about being consistent with the background in regards to picture theft….great idea!

  4. Jillian Says:

    LOVE Jenny’s work! She does the sweetest faces. Great colors too.
    XOXO
    Jillian

  5. Lani Says:

    i love her creations and what a wonderful interview! 🙂


  6. Oh I adore Jennys work and the photos are art in themselves don’t you think…so confetti lovely…aaahhh, thanks for telling us where to find her whilst we await the grand opening. kiss noises Linda Lilly Cottage.

  7. Lori Says:

    i am a VERY lucky girl, i have two of Jenny’s wonderful creations!!! everything you said about her work is so very true!!! there is such a sweetness about her work that melts your heart 🙂

  8. Gina Smith Says:

    Hi Sadie Lou Who- I haven’t applied-I don’t think I am frou-frou enough. My Maries are girlish, for sure, but I’m not all pinkish….I really need an evaluation from you, if you have time to look at my etsy or blog.
    xo,
    Gina

  9. acupofjoy Says:

    I enjoy reading your blog. I’ve bookmarked you in my favorites. I am writing to invite you to join in the fun at the blog my sister-in-law and I keep…The Chocolistas.

    We, The Chocolistas, are holding a Name That Chocolate Dessert Contest…August 4 – 16….with prizes! We’d love for you to participate.

    Come and join the fun!
    Deborah

    thechocolistas.blogspot.com


  10. Fabulous……Terrific craftmanship!
    Ann-Densie


  11. I fell in love with her designs the moment I laid eyes upon them. Just so sweet & filled with happiness : ) im so happy she is here too. I know im in good company!
    Joelle XOXO


Leave a comment