LolliShops & Gingerbread

September 2, 2008

I’m so excited to announce LolliShops’ very first Craft Challenge!
I’m giving everyone plenty of notice so that you can all find the time to participate.
Here are the yummy details: This is for LolliShops Vendors Only!
*UPDATE* There are a lot of questions and answers in the comments
I want everyone to make a faux Gingerbread House. No baking!
This challenge has quite a bit of opportunities and variations. You can use some real elements–like candy–but I want this creation to be decorative for the holidays because we’re going to save the houses for our LolliShops!
So if you use candy, it should be varnished or sealed (protected) in some way so that the house can be used year after year. Also, this creation should not be too large–I think it should stay within an 8 inch length and height.

You have plenty of time to get ideas and start gathering up supplies. I found a really great house form online and I am pleased to announce that the vendor was more than willing to offer a 15% discount to any LolliShops vendor for this challenge! She created a special listing in her shop just for you. I’m going to make a couple houses and I’ll be using this form for one of them:
Special Discounted House
If the special listing is sold, just contact the seller and she’ll put it back up for you.

You can blog some sneak peeks of your materials or the process–we’re going to save the actual reveal for a saved date (which I will announce as we get closer).
I will do a special post with all the participants and a link to the special Flickr Pool that I will set up for the event. **For those of you who were accepted LolliShops vendors and you don’t have a Flickr account, I really think it’s a great promotional & Networking tool. LolliShops will be using it a lot for various contests and challenges. It’s FREE!! I will also help anyone set up their account if that kind of thing makes you nervous.**

The winner will get a special (TBA) Holiday Themed package from LolliShops!
The rest of us can list the creations in our LolliShops when we open for business!
*excited*
Please use the comments for any suggestions or comments!
You can email me too at lollishops@gmail.com
~Sadie Lou

101 Responses to “LolliShops & Gingerbread”

  1. Lori Goree Says:

    Sadie, this is a great idea! I am so excited to see what all these talented ladies come up with.


  2. I would love to participate. It does make me nervous to sign up with flikr, I will try it on my own, but if I need help, I’ll leave another comment here. Thanks for being so great!
    Sally

  3. melanie Says:

    What a cute idea!


  4. I love a challenge!
    This will be fun…
    Priscilla

  5. Lallee Says:

    This sounds so interesting. I’m putting on my thinking cap for how I might do this using the craft I am comfortable with–crochet. I have one question about the house cut out offer. Does that mean the Gingerbread houses can be flat and not necessarily three dimensional? Oops, I guess I have two questions. The challenge is for vendors only, or is anyone invited to participate?
    Thanks Sadie!

  6. Jenni B Says:

    Wow! I really can’t wait to see what the creative minds at LolliShops will come up with! When will the due date on this be?

  7. Dana Says:

    What a fun challenge!!! I think I can do this one. πŸ™‚ It will give me an excuse to get out some art supplies again instead of the soaping pot.

    Thanks for the link to the discounted form, too!

    Peace,
    Dana

  8. Roxie Says:

    Hi Sadie. I’ve never made a gingerbread house before, but I am definitely up for the challenge. As soon as I saw this post, I immediately got a few ideas. Yay! Can’t wait to see all the creations.
    Roxie

  9. Julia Says:

    How fun!
    I’m in πŸ™‚
    Julia

  10. lollishopsblog Says:

    Lallee–
    The house does not have to be 3 dimensional
    and yes, this contest is for vendors only–since we are listing them in our shops too.
    πŸ™‚
    ~Sadie

  11. Sandra Lujan Says:

    How exciting I always wanted to make a gingerbread house!
    great idea!
    smiles,
    Sandy


  12. OOOhhh, this is right up my alley!! I love the Gingerbread Challenge! Thanks Sadie, it’s going to be so much fun! I can’t wait to see all the sweet “Non Confections” the other talented artists create~

    I too am officially in!

    ps.. Do we all need to use the form you presented, or can we build our own style of gingerbread house?

  13. Michele Says:

    how adorable!! awesome idea!!! i am in!!!!

  14. Maryellen Says:

    Sooo cool. I can’t wait to get started on this!

  15. Diane Says:

    Sadie,

    This will be a lot of fun especially seeing all of the creations in the special Gingerbread photo album!

    I just want to be sure of the rules on this. Can make any sort of Gingerbread house that doesn’t necessarily have to be three dimensional, no larger than 8″ or so and non edible? Is there anything else we should know? Does it have to be built entirely from scratch or can we use some elements that we think may work well by altering something etc.?

  16. Amanda Says:

    This is a great challenge! Is there a limit to how small it can be? I’m so excited about this! I’ve been sketching out some gingerbread type treats already! I need to come up with something special for this challenge!

  17. Jill Says:

    This sounds like fun, and a little different for me. I’ve got ideas running around in my head, though!

  18. Danielle Says:

    Great challenge! I can’t wait to get started!!


  19. …tatted gingerbread house..hmmm…we shall see.

  20. lollishopsblog Says:

    Answers to questions:
    No limit to how small
    You don’t have to use the house form I linked to
    You can build the whole thing from scratch
    You can make more than one
    They don’t have to be actual houses–you can do a pendent or something…
    There is no limit to your creativity except:
    Non edible
    Not too BIG
    πŸ™‚

  21. Diane Says:

    Sadie,
    Count me in on this one, this will be loads of fun (:
    Hugs, Diane

  22. michelle may Says:

    Fun! Looking forward to this.
    Hugs,
    Michelle

  23. Denise Mollison Says:

    Cool.


  24. This sounds like such fun! I’ve wanted to participate in a challenge and this gives me plenty of time to get prepared and ready. Thank you for giving us advance notice.

    Christa

  25. katie Says:

    I am so excited!!! I have never done one before, but have always wanted too, now I have the perfect excuse to do one!! Thanks for the oppurtunity>:)

  26. Gigi Minor Says:

    Awesome idea! I’m in : )


  27. Hi Sadie,

    I have never made a gingerbread house,but I know I can make one! I too have all these ideas floating in my head. This will be so much fun. When is the deadline??

    Can’t wait to see all the pretty houses!

    Thanks!

    xo
    Janet Bernasconi
    Janet’s Creative Pillows

  28. Kristen Says:

    How fun!! I’ve got ton’s of ideas already floating around in my head πŸ™‚


  29. What a fun challenge! I am excited to get started!

  30. Tina ~Sweetina~ Says:

    Sadie~
    This is a yummy idea! I’ve never made a gingerbread house,so I definately want to participate. What a great way to get our creative Christmas Groove on!
    Count me in!|Tina

  31. Laurie Says:

    Count me in too! I’ve already got some ideas brewing! πŸ™‚

  32. naomi Says:

    “Ohhhhhhhh”, very, very fun! Definitely got the creative gears going.


  33. Yay!!! I’m up for the challenge! This will be fun! Count me in!!!

  34. deborah Says:

    love this idea! hmmmmmm, what will I create?


  35. OOHH! I love this idea! I cannot wait to get started!!!!
    xoxo, Tiffany

  36. Angela Says:

    I’m up for the challenge. Now, I have to put on my frou-frou thinking cap and get to the task at hand!

    I purchased a form from the aforementioned Etsy seller and I am ready to go!

    Angela

  37. Kristi Says:

    OKAAAAAAAAAY! I’m in HOWEVER,I am one of those OLD DOGS that is slow learning all these new tricks! I don’t even KNOW what Flickr is (should I be embarrassed?). I am WILLING if someone will point me in the right direction. YEE HAW!!–Kristi

  38. lisa Says:

    Sadie ~

    Woohoo, now this is gonna be fun.

    Can’t wait to get my house form.

    Count me in!


  39. OK. In order to set up a flickr account I have to sign up with yahoo, and agree to the terms of service, which includes fees, and changing my emaill address. So, if I am wrong about that, you can help me set it up. If I am right about that, then I don’t think I’m ready for this.
    Signed…Skittish in Colorado
    Sally (My Little Card Shop)

  40. Erica ( IcingSugar ) Says:

    OOOH! this sounds great! hey Sadie, do we have to buy this house or can i just construct it myself? anything goes? I loooove candy! CANDY CANDY!

  41. Julie Says:

    I’ve read it all….so my question is: Do we have to notify you that we are participating?

    Hehe

  42. Lob Lolly Studio Says:

    What a delicious idea!! Count me in!


  43. I’m in. I’m a lampwork glass artisan and I’m looking forward to making one out of glass.

    Looking forward to hearing the deadline for it.
    thanks so much,
    Marcy

    StudioMarcy

  44. Amanda Says:

    Love it! I just got a deal on some house forms at Michaels! Let’s see what we cook up!

  45. angela Says:

    I have only made your standard gingerbread house in the past and was racking my brain on this one when my light bulb(usually blown by the way) blinked for a second and I have an idea. Thanks for the motivation!!

  46. Cat Says:

    *squeees* with excitement!


  47. Nothing like a challenge to spark Creativity and i am sooo looking forward to this challenge!!! I shall be gingerbreading as we soon as i finish typing this..oh who am I kidding, I have washing to do, but I will be thinking about it!! Thanks for the challenge, Kiss Noises Linda Lilly Cottage.

  48. lollishopsblog Says:

    Answers to questions:
    I will keep updating everyone as to the deadline.
    Yes, you’ll have to notify me at some point that you’re participating–
    That way we can include everyone as we go to vote.
    More details soon!
    Get crafting!!
    ~Sadie

  49. Stevie Says:

    Yippeee!!! This is going to be so much FUN!
    I’m in!!!
    =)
    ~Stevie

  50. Robin Says:

    Oh I’m already started! Can’t wait to brainstorm some more!

  51. Nan Says:

    Oh, this sounds like so much fun! I’m in!!!
    Thank you for a wonderful idea.
    Nan

  52. Jan Thomason Says:

    Okay, I’m signing up – puh-leeze don’t make the deadline until after the middle or end of october. I don’t know about the rest of the lolli’s but i’m really swamped right now!

    i’m putting my thinking cap on – my fru one:)

    Jan

  53. Lori Says:

    this sounds like F U N!!!

  54. Valerie Says:

    Awesome idea! I love making Gingerbread houses.

  55. Linda Says:

    Hi Sadie, what a wonderful idea and so much fun.. you are amazing lady!! i bought things last year and never got around to making one so this is perfect for me… just want to know when the due date is so I will be on time. I am just getting back to crafting and have fairs in between so it is a busy time for me so i just want to make sure I am not late with it. Thanks for the first challenge… i have a gingerbread kitchen.. i will have to take pics sometime for flickr so everyone can see! hugs, Linda

  56. lollishopsblog Says:

    The due date will be at least a couple of months out–you got time gals!!
    *hugs*

  57. kishcrafts Says:

    I am SUPER excited about this! I have wanted to make a gingerbread house for a long time now and this challenge gives me the motivation to get started! Thanks!

  58. amy Says:

    okay, count me in! yay! Can’t wait to see everyone’s entries, and maybe even purchase a few!

  59. amy Says:

    oh I thought of a question. the flickr pool is only for the “big reveal” and not for projects in progress. We should do progress pics on our blogs? N’est pas?

    thanks

  60. Jillian Says:

    This sounds like fun! I’m in!!
    XOXO
    Jillian

  61. Brenda Says:

    Im in! πŸ™‚

    ~brenda

  62. Laurie Says:

    I’m glad I got accepted!! I can’t wait to get started on this!! laurie

  63. thecozyloft Says:

    I’m soooo excited about this!

    Thanks for this super sweet challenge!!

  64. Ann Says:

    Sounds like fun! I’m in.

  65. Karin Says:

    such a fun idea! i am getting my ideas ready!

  66. Teriann Says:

    Woo Hoo! I’m in! What fun… ::::rubbing hands together:::: Thanks Sadie!

  67. maisy Says:

    Never done anything like this before but totally up for giving this a try! Am ordering my little house today but please be extra kind with the closing date because my house blank first has to ship to me in the UK… Hurrah! πŸ™‚

  68. chelsea ann Says:

    Its like fait! I was already working on a similar project! Yippee Skippee!
    This is going to be soooo much fun!

  69. Julie Says:

    I am definitely IN, sadie LOU, it’s right up my candy lane!

    piecefulbits
    skybluecrayons
    (~~)julie

  70. Linda Says:

    I am in too Sadie, I have a gingerbread kitchen so would love this challenge…sounds like so much fun… you are doing a super job with Lollishops and it hasn’t even opened yet.. super girl! Hugs, Linda

  71. wendiwinn Says:

    i’m in!

    how fun. i’ve never made a gingerbread house before. i’ll have to think think think.

    still thinking.

  72. Cindy Says:

    Ooh! I’d love to try this… sounds like fun..can it be ceramic?
    Cindy πŸ™‚


  73. this sounds great fun i think i will start on this today! i love the idea!

  74. kim hesson Says:

    oh i’m so excited about this and can’t wait to start working on it! i have a few things i want to try! thanks for having it! can’t wait to be inspired by all the other vendors!
    kim

  75. Kimmarie Says:

    This looks like a great place to shop! I love Deb’s (SIWL) stuff as well. Her store will be a great addition here!

  76. Amanda Says:

    How fun! Thanks for coming up with such an inspiring idea. πŸ™‚

  77. Lilli Says:

    I’m in. This will be great fun!

  78. Lilli Says:

    I’m in! This will be great fun!


  79. i have mines made i really want to show it when can we start to show them?

    ohhh im so excited i did two different ideas!

    πŸ™‚

  80. becca-mari Says:

    I love to make gingerbread houses…great idea!


  81. I’ve made real gingerbread houses This will be more fun since I don’t have to bake YAY! Getting my supplies all together to make a sweet treat for my shop!

    Count me in SadieLou!

    Off to design, plan, and make!

  82. k.rowe Says:

    ooh! I’ll try it ;D

    I do mostly watercolor painting, so I have no idea which way I’ll go for this πŸ˜‰ Fun!


  83. im soo in!!! I will be stocking up my goodies to make a few houses!!! hugs!

    toodles-
    sarah


  84. I’m up for this – it sounds like fun!


  85. Fun, fun, fun!! Count me in, Sadie :o)
    Smiles, Karen

  86. Kathy Says:

    Hi, Sadie, all my questions answered here, sent my Flickr request for the Lollishops Gingerbread Pool, got my pink polka dot thinking cap pulled on tight! Kathy

  87. Paula Clare Says:

    Hi Sadie,
    I’m in! I’ll get crack-a-lackin on the challenge! What fun!

  88. Covetables Says:

    Fabulous contest! I have so many ideas! can’t wait to see what everyone comes up with.

  89. JillzWhimzy Says:

    very sweet idea! I can’t wait to see everyone’s different house. When they are all done we could have a candy land block party πŸ™‚ woo hoo

  90. Silvia Says:

    What a great idea! I’ve made some sketches for a gingerbread house in August, but summer is not a good time to make one… I will accept the challenge now!

  91. Gail Says:

    Sadie Lou,
    Great challenge, thanks, count me in!
    Gail

  92. Giggleberry Says:

    Hmmmm you’ve got my mind ticking now……. I’m in!!

  93. jo Says:

    Is it too late to come and play?

  94. Becs Says:

    What is the deadline to submit photos? I just got in my house frame. I am excited aboutmaking it…but did not see a deadline. Please point me in the right direction someone….Thanks…Becs

  95. Alisa R. Says:

    I’m not Sadie Lou, but on
    —September 3, 2008 at 5:27 am

    lollishopsblog Says:

    The due date will be at least a couple of months out–you got time gals!!
    *hugs*

    Hope that helps.
    Just getting started on mine (eek!)
    ~alisa R. (–not Sadie)
    ^_^


  96. OMG! I want to play! I’m in πŸ™‚

  97. Lindsey Says:

    I’m in too! But do we have to sell our gingerbread house? I’m afraid my family has gotten rather attached to it and don’t want me to sell it!
    Lindsey

  98. Laurie Says:

    Is it too late to participate? If not, count me in.

  99. Cathy Says:

    Can I still play or did I miss the game???

  100. Julie Says:

    Yoo HOO Sadie Lou WHo,
    Is the due date getting closer?…I am getting ever so anxious!!!!
    piecefulbits(~~)


Leave a Reply

