LolliShops Style Watch: Lolita Fashion and Accessories

September 29, 2008

LolliShops will be sporting a trend in accessories known as “Lolita”.

It appeals to me because of all the pink, ruffles, fluff, froufrou and sugary sweet dessert-inspired jewelry.
You can click on the mosaic for vendor information and photo credits.
Wikipedia defines this trend like this…

Lolita is a fashion subculture in Japan that is primarily influenced by Victorian children’s clothing as well as costumes from the Rococo period. Lolita has made this into a unique fashion by adding gothic and original design elements to the look. From this, Lolita fashion has evolved into several different sub styles and has created a devoted subculture in Japan. The Lolita look consists primarily of a knee length skirt or dress, headdress, blouse, petticoat, knee length socks or stockings and rocking horse or high heel/platform shoes. Teddy bears and dolls such as Super Dollfies are often carried to emphasize the childlike look.

Now, while I can’t imagine grown women going to the grocery store in platform heels and a Baby Doll, I do think we can add in some sweet accessories to our wardrobe. A set of LolliPop Earrings or a Mini Birthday cake on your finger is a fun way to play with the Lolita look without committing to the whole costume.
(If you do want to entertain the full Lolita look, I love the fashions at Anna House)
Vendors who create jewelry & accessories with this trend in mind will be using the tag “Lolita” in their listings so don’t forget to keyword that tag when LolliShops goes live! Lolita Creation will fit into the category, “Elegant Whimsy”.

LolliShops is expecting to be in its Beta Testing phase on November 15th
and will have an official launch on November 28th!
~Sadie Lou

17 Responses to “LolliShops Style Watch: Lolita Fashion and Accessories”

  1. Shell Says:

    I love the lolita look. So glad you talked about it. I don’t think a lot of people know about this style. I agree the best way for women to wear this is to add cute little frilly pieces here and there with your wardrobe. As much as I love frills, parasols and ruffles, I couldn’t walk out the house all totally dressed in lolita style

  2. Ann Says:

    I’m not sure about the idea of walking around clutching a doll or teddy bear or even dressing like that but the accessories look like fun.

  3. Brigitte Says:

    Thank you for featuring my necklace ❤ I love making lolita jewelry! I’ll definitely bring this style of frou to Lolli!

  4. chelsea ann Says:

    I dress in this style from time to time when I get together with my friend Ashlee~

    She has been a model for some of my work
    You can check it out here-

    Birthday Party

    and here is one image of me in (almost) Lalita
    Look! Bloomers

    The thing with Lolita is that it is Very strict! I like to bend the rules… so when I spend the day with 20 other Lolita girls from my area they tend to be a little snutty… So do be careful to research the style before you tag it as Lolita!

    For example- My beaver hat in the picture was a BIG no no!

    Take Care everyone!

    Chelsea Ann

  5. Kelly Says:

    How funny that you posted this…I just read that Wiki article a few weeks ago about “Lolita” style and the other darker variations in Japan. I love the creativity of it all. Sure, I’m not going to go “there” with this style but touches of fun here and there…well, I think the more you surround yourself with what makes you smile when you look at it, the better.

  6. jesserino Says:

    So cute! I love the accessories and frou frou dresses, though I can’t really picture myself wearing them, it’s fun to look at:)

  7. Cat Says:

    *swoons* Love Lolita style! I lean a bit to the darker (I’m drawing a Victorian ghost girl now) edge of it but its all quite delightful!

    Lollishops is going to rock!

  8. Amanda Says:

    Awesome! I’ve been reading up on Lolita myself! I can’t wait for the launch!

  9. Aubree Says:

    Thanks so much for adding my Lipgloss Necklaces! I love making lolita jewelry- I would never wear the whole babydoll and platforms look, but I love adding fun lolita accessories to my outfits! ❤

  10. Stevie Says:

    The dresses of Anna House are so fabulous! Too Sugary Sweet…off to eat a cuppy cake 😉

  11. karen Says:

    Sadie Lou,
    This is not Japan, but Hong Kong, which is in China. I lived there for five years. Make sure you look at the shipping costs to the United States, if you check the shipping page, there is a $160.00 charge to ship to the states. They are using HK Hong Kong dollars.

    Karen

  12. lollishopsblog Says:

    Oh, Anna House fashions are located in China–okay, thanks. However–the trend did start in Japan. I’m pretty sure of that.
    Thanks for the warning about shipping costs from China, Karen!
    *hugs*

  13. Beth Says:

    Actually, that $160 HK comes to $20 and change in USD, so the shipping is really quite reasonable. I’m not sure why Karen even brought it up, as all overseas sites charge about that much for shipping.

    And I’m a full-grown woman (almost 30) who wears lolita out. But there are a lot of different styles of lolita, and it’s easier than you would think to find something that just looks really dressy. Or really fun. And there are many girls and women in countries around the world who dress this way on a regular basis. And spend HUGE amounts of money on it.

    (The ones who carry their dollfies or wear the bunny-bag purses freak a lot of us out, though. XD)

  14. kadeja (hana) Says:

    i luv lalita!! especually when jrockers wear it i just dont know where to get it!! Does anyone know of a website where you can order it like over line? if so plz send me a message on my email thing its patunya_chan@yahoo.com Thanks ^_^

  15. Aftestows Says:

    Глава 3: Откровение Сердце тьмы.
    appuntamento торрент

    mf1365

  16. Jesuspitnerne Says:

    I enjoy you because of all of your effort on this site. Ellie takes pleasure in going through investigation and it’s really easy to understand why. Most of us know all regarding the powerful method you render effective techniques by means of the website and in addition foster response from others about this idea plus my simple princess is now being taught a great deal. Enjoy the rest of the year. You have been doing a very good job.

    Thanks for your article. It is rather unfortunate that over the last 10 years, the travel industry has had to deal with terrorism, SARS, tsunamis, influenza, swine flu, and also the first ever entire global economic depression. Through it all the industry has really proven to be strong, resilient and also dynamic, getting new tips on how to deal with misfortune. There are often fresh challenges and chance to which the marketplace must just as before adapt and respond.

  17. Williept Says:

    Modern art can also be a wonderful and affordable:
    purchase music in our store and you will be satisfied!


Leave a Reply

