Laura Bray on Elegant Whimsy

August 28, 2008

Elegant Whimsy

By Laura Bray

Did you ever notice that whenever you come up with an idea that it suddenly appears everywhere? I believe it’s a sure sign that I’m in the creative “flow”. This very thing happened to me recently. I got my invitation to join LolliShops and, when I was filling out my application and saw that one of the categories was Elegant Whimsy, I nearly fell off my chair. I blogged about a new concept I thought I had invented called Elegant Whimsy in mid-July! (You can read about it here: Elegant Whimsy) As my mom says there’s nothing new in the world! When I told Sadie Lou about this coincidence, she kindly invited me to be a guest blogger to discuss Elegant Whimsy with you.

So today, I thought I would give you my take on the Elegant Whimsy lifestyle. I often come across people who say they like my artwork a lot, but are afraid it’s “too childlike or whimsical” for their décor. Then I explain that you can include whimsical in the most austere of rooms. The only rule? You have to be brave enough to do it. Haven’t you ever walked into a person’s house, saw something that seemed out of place, but it ended up being the thing you liked most about their house? Wasn’t that object what you remembered years later? That’s Elegant Whimsy. It’s sparkle and whimsy on the least expected item. It’s using old teacups as curtain tie backs and salt & pepper shakers as tassels. It’s having peanut butter & jelly sandwiches on your wedding china. Even the picture of me on this blog post, is an Elegant Whimsy story. I was at an upscale restaurant and after dinner they brought a bowl of cotton candy with the check. I’ll always remember that restaurant because of that whimsical touch.

So here’s my challenge for you. I want you to blog about living the Elegant Whimsy lifestyle. It can be something in your house, it can be something you do, just make it elegant and make it whimsical. I can’t wait to see all the great ideas! Be sure to post a comment so we can all come and visit.

To further celebrate Elegant Whimsy, I’m giving away a set of my Elegant Whimsy note cards. Simply leave a comment with a link to your Elegant Whimsy tip and we’ll draw a name on September 10th. These note cards will be in my LolliShop once the candy store opens!

If you want to read more about me and my creative journey, visit my website at Katydid Designs

With Elegance & Whimsy,

Laura Bray

katydid designs

Thanks Laura!
So just to clarify, after you read this post–you can leave a comment just to talk about what Laura said here, and you can also come back and leave a comment when your post is ready in order to be entered into the contest and so we can visit your blog. Only comments with links will be entered.
~Sadie Lou

22 Responses to “Laura Bray on Elegant Whimsy”


  1. Hi Laura & Sadie! This is a great challenge! I’m off to find the elegant whimsy in my house so I can write about it at my blog: http://www.comehomecottage.blogspot.com

    ~Ambrea


  2. Love the cotton candy in a bowl!! Imagine how cute it would be in a fancy teacup or crystal cup! Great post!!


  3. Laura…
    Love your post! You are always so inspiring…
    I will def find my Elegant Whimsy!
    Priscilla

  4. Lori Says:

    great post…i love the bit about the cotton candy…i like to use a little touch of whimsy wherever i can:)

  5. Laura Bray Says:

    Thanks for featuring me Sadie! This was really fun to do. I can’t wait to see what everyone comes up with!

  6. Shell Says:

    I love the idea of Elegant Whimsy!! Hmm.. now i have to look in my home to see what Elegant Whimsy I have. I think I have more Whimsy than elegant.


  7. Wow, Laura I so know what you mean about having an idea and then seeing it everywhere and sometimes it is very hard not to feel a little defeated by it but you just have to pick yourself up and just get on with your creations, they are yours, they come from the heart and as such are never going to be the same as others and we all know trrends have to start somewhere.
    I would love to take the challenge and will pop back when I have posted about same!! Yipee!! Kiss noises Linda Lilly Cottage.

  8. Kathy Says:

    I had a fun search through my own home; here are the results!

    http://catnipstudio.blogspot.com/2008/08/lollishops-and-elegant-whimsy.html

  9. Amanda Says:

    I ❤ Elegant Whimsy! (I never new that was what it was called until Sadie Lou found me though!) This is a super wonderful post!

  10. angelahenrie Says:

    I love “elegant whimsy” Everyone should be so brave!

  11. Patti V Says:

    I just made this ball gown for a challenge over on the Paper Whimsy forum…for their Bibbidi Bobbidi Boo Ball!!! I hope you like it
    http://7rosepetalpath.blogspot.com/2008/08/bibbidi-bobbidi-boo-ball.html

    huge hugs
    Patti V

  12. iHanna Says:

    It’s a new concept to me, but I thought maybe my newest necklace is both elegant and whimsy, but of course it’s a matter of taste. It’s whimsy for sure, but I do loove it:

    http://www.ihanna.nu/blog/?p=874

    great post by the way, I love finding new expressions and words!


  13. I love the cotton candy with the check! If all resteraunts did something like that it would definetly make getting the check a lot sweeter! I’m definetly more whimsy than elegant but this might qualify. Have a look…

    http://beckysusanne.blogspot.com/2008/08/elegant-whimsy.html

  14. Shawnee Says:

    Terrific post. I have always loved Elegant Whimsy but just didn’t know it!!

  15. Lallee Says:

    Laura, you captured the definition of Elegant Whimsy so perfectly. I will definitely be doing a post on my blog and will come back an comment when it is ready–probably this week. I have whimsy of some capacity in almost every room of my home. I can’t wait to see the other responses too!


  16. Wow! What a great post. I had so much fun going through my house looking for Elegant Whimsy. Hope you enjoy it too!!
    http://www.sweetmomentsbyjillian.blogspot.com

    Love the cotton candy in a bowl, so cute!
    XOXO
    Jillian

  17. diana Says:

    I don’t have a website. But wanted to share…your whimsy is too sweet! I think that people that say it may be childish…just don’t get it! That is why your one of a kind!!!
    Thanks for adding and supporting my addiction to “Whimsy”!!!
    Diana

  18. Jeanette Says:

    My firm belief is that you have to see where someone lives to know who they truly are. Preferably their bedroom.

    I have a friend who’s husband is a banker. You walk into her living room and it’s so austere. One of those rooms where you don’t dare sit on the furniture for fear of soiling it.

    But her bedroom…Her walls are purple, her bedspread is turquoise and there is color everywhere. She said “I have to be the banker’s wife everywhere else”.

    Ever since that moment, I have tried to let myself be in my house and have found it’s a much happier place to be. And I love having little unexpected things in my home.

    The thing I am most known for around here is a red door propped up in the corner of my living room. We decorate it for holidays and it’s the thing that everyone comments on when they come to my house. 99% of people love it, only a few have ever really thought it weird. They need to unleash their imagination.

  19. acupofjoy Says:

    You are invited to:

    Name That Chocolate Dessert Contest
    September 1 – 13

    http://www.thechocolistas.com/2008/09/name-that-chocolate-dessert-fifth.html

    First Prize: Hot Chocolate Dress from Emberlish

    Second Prize: Chocolate Orange Lil Grubby Candle from The Soap Maker’s Shop

    Hope to see you there!

    Deborah & Colleen
    The Chocolistas
    thechocolistas.com

    Deborah @ Comfort Joy Designs
    comfortjoydesigns.blogspot.com

    Colleen @ Mommie Daze
    mommiedaze.com

  20. Jillian Says:

    I had such a fun time going through my house trying to find Elegant Whimsy. Hope you enjoy!!
    http://www.sweetmomentsbyjillian.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

